Uhuru Appoints Former SONU Chair As New CAS Of Education

Zacharia Kinuthia Mugure made it to President Kenyatta’s list of appointees in a major cabinet reshuffle that has seen some like Mwangi Kiunjuri being shown the door.

Kinuthia will be working under CS Magoha as the education Chief Administrative Secretary. Kinuthia has been known to many as a Jubilee diehard, in the recent tides in the party taking side with the pro-Kenyatta politicians.

Kinuthia nourished his politics games right back when he was the University of Nairobi student leader, heading SONU between 2013 and 2014 thereafter the current Embakasi East MP Babu Owino taking over until his election in 2017.

Zachary will however not be working for the first time with his current boss Prof. George Magoha. Zachary served SONU as its chair while Prof. Magoh was the Vice-Chancellor to the best-ranked Kenya’s institution. It is thus for the two a reunion at a different higher level.

His appointment has been received with mixed reactions. His opponents thought he got the post thanks to his loyalty to the president, while those in favour urging it was a nice gesture for the president to appoint a young fellow of Zachary’s taste into government.

The appointment was mocked by Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria saying Kinuthia would be a face of incompetence in the education docket.

President Kenyatta announced the reshuffle and appointments from the Mombasa State House.

Below is a full list of the Administrative Secretaries appointed alongside Zachariah Kinuthia:

Chief Administrative Secretaries (CAS)
1.) Zachariah Kinuthia – Education
2.) Patrick Ole Ntutu – Labour and Social Protection
3.) Andrew Tuimur – Water, Sanitation, Irrigation
4.) Abdul Bahari – Devolution and ASAR
5.) Lawrence Karanja – Industrialization, Trade, and Enterprise Development
6.) Peter Odoyo – Defense
7.) Maureen Ogoma – ICT, Innovation, Youth Affairs
8.) Winnie Guchu – State Law Office
9.) Wavinya Ndeti – Transport
10.) Mumina Bonaya – Education
11.) Linah Chebii Kilimo – Agriculture, livestock, fisheries and Co-operatives
12.) Ann Mukami – Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, and co-operatives
13.) Mercy Mwangangi – Health
14.) Nadia Ahmed Abdalla – ICT
15.) Hussein Dado – Interior and Coordination

Read more: Susan Kihika Barred From Uhuru Kenyatta’s Event In Nakuru

Facebook Comments

Show More

Kai Eli

Eli is a dedicated digital scribe with a bias on matters politics, governance, social media, and entertainment.
Back to top button