Health Ministry Puts 14 Counties on High Alert For Coronavirus

The Ministry of Health has placed 14 counties on high alert for the killer Wuhan coronavirus (COVID-19).

These counties were put on alert because of their points of entry or due to their proximity to those counties with points of entry. They include Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisumu, Kiambu, Uasin Gishu, Kajiado, Busia, Migori, Kilifi, Kakamega, Kajiado, Nakuru, Wajir, and Garissa.

Health Ministry head of disease surveillance, Dr Daniel Lang’at, said that the country’s surveillance system is robust and was confident of no confirmed cases as of today (5th March 2020).

He added that Kenya can test the first 100 samples of suspected cases either at the National Influenza Center or the Kenya Medical Research Institute.

Dr Langat also said that over 300,000 travellers had been screened using thermal scanners and guns.

The announcement comes after South Africa confirmed its first case of the coronavirus. A 38-year-old male was tested positive after he travelled to Italy. It is the first case to be reported in southern Africa and the third case to be confirmed in sub-Saharan Africa after Nigeria and Senegal.

Read More: George Kinoti Reveals DP Ruto Bodyduard’s Last Moments

Do you have any Breaking News Story? Would you like to be published on WhatsApp us on +254 795 784 349 (Click HERE) or Email now!

Facebook Comments

Show More

Elvis Mwangi

A content writer with some years of experience. My job is to interpret and report current events using words. There is just that mystery of how words can invoke so much emotion.
Back to top button